Limitations of Netlify hosting
Netlify can host sites that run entirely in a web browser, like landing pages, portfolios, and small apps. Netlify can’t host a database or a traditional backend, which are the parts of a site that save information, like user accounts or orders, so it’s available later. If your project needs a database or a backend, stay with Bolt hosting. Bolt hosting supports projects with a backend, and Bolt Cloud provides built-in databases. To learn more about what Netlify can host, see these resources from Netlify:- What is Netlify?: Netlify’s description of its purpose and features.
- Intro to Composable Architecture: An overview of how to build sites that Netlify can host.
Explore Netlify’s website and documentation for full details of its features.
Connect Bolt to your Netlify account
You need a Netlify account to connect Bolt with Netlify. If you don’t have one already, sign up before continuing. Follow these steps to connect Bolt to your Netlify account:
- Open any Bolt project.
- In the top center of the screen, click the gear icon, then click All project settings.
- Under Account settings, click Applications.
- In the Netlify section, click Connect.
- Log in to Netlify as prompted, then follow Netlify’s steps to complete the process.
Publish new projects to Netlify instead of Bolt hosting
While Bolt hosting is the default hosting option for publishing a project, you can connect a Netlify account and publish your project to Netlify hosting instead. Before publishing, make sure you’ve already connected Bolt to your Netlify account. To publish your project to Netlify:- In the top center of the screen, click the gear icon, then click All project settings.
- Click Domains & Hosting.
- From the Hosting Provider dropdown, select Netlify, then close the settings to return to your project.
- In the top-right corner of your screen, click Publish.
- In the menu that opens, click Publish again.
- Wait about a minute for Bolt to deploy your site.
- Click the link that appears in the chat window to open your site in your browser.
Change your Netlify URL
The first time you publish your site, Bolt automatically creates anetlify.app URL name for you.
This feature is available on Teams plans only. Users on individual plans will not see the option to edit the automatically generated URL.
- In the top-right corner of your screen, click Publish.
- Find your published domain URL and click the pencil icon next to it.
- Make your changes.
- To update your live site URL to the new domain name, select Republish after updating.
- Click Save.
Unpublish a project with Netlify hosting
To take down a site you’ve published with Netlify hosting:
- In the top center of the screen, click the gear icon, then click All project settings.
- Click Domains & Hosting.
- Click the red Unpublish text.
- Click Unpublish again to confirm.
Switch between Bolt hosting and Netlify hosting
You can switch an existing project between Bolt hosting and Netlify at any time. If you’re using Bolt hosting, you can switch to Netlify hosting, and if you’re using Netlify hosting, you can switch to Bolt hosting. Before switching, unpublish your project:- If it’s published to Bolt hosting and uses a custom domain, disconnect the domain, then unpublish your Bolt-hosted site.
- If it’s published to Netlify, unpublish it from Netlify hosting.
- In the top center of the screen, click the gear icon, then click All project settings.
- Click Domains & Hosting.
- From the Hosting Provider dropdown, select Bolt Cloud or Netlify, then close the settings to return to your project.
- In the top-right corner of your screen, click Publish.
- In the menu that opens, click Publish again.
- Wait about a minute for Bolt to deploy your site.
- Click the link that appears in the chat window to open your site in your browser.
Custom domains don’t carry over between Bolt and Netlify automatically. If you switch to Netlify hosting, add any custom domains through the Domain Management section of your Netlify dashboard.
Publish manually
You can also publish your project to Netlify without connecting your Bolt account.- Run the project build command (usually
npm run build). - Click Download to download the project.
- Follow Netlify’s Manual deploy instructions.
Note that Bolt calls this feature Publish whereas Netlify calls it Deploy.
Disconnect your Netlify integration
To disconnect your Netlify integration:- Open any Bolt project.
- In the top center of your screen, click the gear icon, then click All project settings.
- Under Account settings, click Applications.
- In the Netlify row, click Disconnect.
- Log in to your Netlify account and remove Bolt from your authorized applications:
- Click your profile > User settings > OAuth.
- Under Authorized applications, click the menu for the Bolt entry.
- Click Revoke access.